ihateapple.net

Main Forum Index

Forum Home

Post Reply

Email Forum Admins

Log In

Search Forums

Read Messages

Send a Message

Edit Your Settings

Forum Rules

Help


okay now we have an issue. How exactly was that call the right call?.....
By:  P. Briscoe (Non running-dog anti-imperial anti-Bush unapologist name-changer; 22533)
Posted on: 06-12-2019 06:56.
Client: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_14_5) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/75.0.3770.80 Safari/537.36
IP: Logged 
Message views: 13 (Score: 0)  


from the rule book:The pitcher, catcher and any outfielder who stations himself in the infield on the play shall be considered infielders for the purpose of this rule.

How exactly were the Cards defenders stationed on the infield on this play? You tell me. Only some sort of bizarre flat-earth logic could explain how a location 20 feet outside the basepaths could be considered "infield."

The rule is bass-ackwards anyway. If a defender drops an easy pop intentionally to try to get a double play, then the defense should be punished, not the offense. All runners should not only be called safe, but they should get to advance 2 bases after the dust settles.





Edited by P. Briscoe at 6/12/2019 7:05:25 AM

Edited by P. Briscoe at 6/12/2019 7:06:37 AM